1/3 sheet sanders

question - what is with these new 1/3 sheet sanders popping up.

Random orbit rectangle sanders - is what I see when I see them. Do any of you all use one - if so how often and does it really help vs a 1/4 sheet and a 5 or 6 inch RO.

I am no expert on them, but I do know they are nothing new. I borrowed one from my neighbor to work on a large R/C boat I built as a teenager more than 30 years ago. It was a corded model. I have to say though that random orbits and the 1/4 sheet have been a lot more common since.
The RO sands much faster in my experience, and it is my preferred sander of the two. However, the fractional sheet sanders have square corners so they can get into places where the round RO disc can’t get. I would assume the 1/3 sheet would be better for working on flat surfaces than the 1/4 since its sanding surface is longer, but how much that matters in real life I don’t know. Right now I have a 1/4 sheet and an RO, and I only use the 1/4 when I have to do inside corners.

There seems to be new interest in this type of sander since ToolGuyd Stuart posted about the new Makita cordless:

New Makita Tool Announcements – Spring 2022 (toolguyd.com)

It features orbital motion - but I’m not sure that these sanders randomize the orbits - so you may expect some scratch patterns that are different and/or more noticeable (grit fot grit) compared to a true RO sander.

I’ve used RO sanders since Porter Cable introduced the first one ever made (#7336) - based on an angle grinder. Before that - I often used a Rockwell-Porter Cable #505 1/2 sheet sander that used in-line motion, I still pull this tool out from time to time and it works well despite it being 40+ years old. Here is a Makita 1/2 sheet sander: