$100 Random Orbit Sander?

Interested to hear any feedback and experiences you have had with RO sanders. I work as a framer and tile setter, so it won’t take daily use, but I need to buy one for woodworking projects at home. Looking for something that has decent dust collection, low-ish vibration, and easy to connect to a shop vac. Have it narrowed to the makita BO5041, Bosch ROS20VS, or Milwaukee 6034-21- but I am open to all suggestions.

I realize Stuart wrote about this a few years ago, just wondering if there was any new insight/products since then. Thanks!

I bought a Dewalt D26450 random orbit sander on Amazon last year. It was on sale for under $50. It works great, but then I found out that Makita makes a cordless one, so I’m considering selling it. But it works good

I bought the Bosch last year and have used it for a few projects around the house. The built in dust collection is ok, but it is prone to leaking a touch. However, I bought an adapter for my shop vac and haven’t look back. Been pretty happy with it overall and would recommend it, especially if you plan on using it with a shop vac.

1 Like

I run a basic Craftsman, dust collector is OK but what I’ve found is using better paper is the key. Kinda like using good blades on a saw makes all the difference.

I am building some custom closet shelves currently, and most of what I do is custom work around the house. Last year I built my son a small desk and sanding with my (Grandfather’s passed down 20 years ago!) Makita 4" RO sander just took forever. I didn’t want to sand the shelf surfaces with that, I bought a Bosch 6 inch sander (Bosch 3727DEVS) just a couple of weeks ago on sale at Amazon for just over $100. And it’s amazing. I haven’t hooked it up to the shop vac, but the dust collection works well.

1 Like

I have an 14 year old BO 5021 Makita sander I bought at Costo.