Best Tools / Mafell KSS 40 18M BL Overview

Yes it is expensive. No it is not for everyone. Now that that is out of the way….

I suspect many of you have had a similar journey with tools. Starting out, we could not afford or justify the cost of tools made by Festool, Mafell, Lamello, etc and so we purchased other brands. Then, after learning to use the tools we have at our disposal and accept (or are ignorant of the compromises we are making), we write those brands off as unnecessary and overpriced. Now I am in a place where I have revisited and used many of these brand’s offerings and realized in the long haul, I have spent more money and time, and my work quality has, at times, suffered. I am not ashamed to say looking back, I regret not investing in the best tool.

The above isn’t isolated to just tools. I can draw similar parallels to when I started playing paintball. I purchased what I could and, along the way, ended up spending more than having just invested in the best available Paintball marker. Perhaps this is unique to me, but I’m confident this will resonate with all of you.

So why am I saying this? Well, I recently reached a period of peak frustration on a walk-in closet installation in early 2022. Having been aware of the Mafell product line for some time and what their offerings were and recognizing how the Mafell KSS 40 18M BL would simplify and improve the quality of my work; while improving the quality of my life (more below) - in the long term I would’ve made more money and been happier had I purchased this saw sooner.

The Mafell KSS 40 18M BL is one of a kind. Festool’s HKC 55 has similar features, but having used it, it is not the same. To name a few differences, the HKC 55 is larger and doesn’t fit in a systainer… As with the Mafell, it is a quality, top-notch tool. Where the Mafell excels is that it is the right size, weight, compactness, and power to complete 90% of the work I do.