Electrical Tool Options

OK so I’m a service tech. Mostly I work industrial / commercial locations so I rarely if ever work in wood, sheetrock, etc. It’s mostly metal cabinets. I have a need quite frequently to cut sections of strut, DIN rail, conduit, as well as make openings in panels. Right now my tools include a cordless Milwaukee 4-5" grinder that I can load with grinder wheels or cutoff wheels, a corded Hitachi (Metabo) reciprocating saw from last decade (I forgot how old it is!) but still going strong, a HF sheet metal shear that works OK in straight lines and with lighter grade sheet metal but is otherwise a pain since it does not corner at all and can’t handle thicker cabinets at all, and you honestly can’t start it in a very small hole like you’d get from a drill so it’s pretty much only good for shaping bigger pieces, not inside cuts. drills both good quality machine shop grade jobber bits and a few step drills, and stainless knockout set with the hydraulic pump for perfectly round burr free holes.

While all this stuff works pretty well overall for what I do, it would be nice to get cleaner corners and straighter cuts, and the corded reciprocating saw just plain has to go at some point because I’m not always guaranteed to be anywhere near a power supply and especially in demo work invariably I end up in a position where the cord keeps wanting to line up with the blade. Up to this point I avoided sabre saws because frankly the ones I used and this was back in the 90’s were trash and the demo reciprocating saw does just about as neat a job. I’ve tried for instance cutting strut with both the reciprocating saw and the grinder. The grinder certainly does it faster and easier but the result is often jagged because I have to turn the strut a couple times where at least the demo saw goes all the way through.