Favorite 1inch hex bits for ratcheting screwdriver (bike sizes)

I’ve read some of the other topics but can’t seem to find what I want so apologies if this is redundant! I am an amateur bike mechanic and just got a ratcheting all in one (the Megapro 211R1C36RD) and would like to buy a GOOD bit set that has common sizes for bike work - 4mm, 5mm, 7mm, etc. A lot of the stuff I’ve used in the past will strip screws, so the more precise the better. I have allen keys, but I want something like that will ratchet. Thank you for any recommendations.

First you might take a look at Park Tools to get a feeling what sizes are in common use. If you are only working on one or two bikes - then your needs will likely be more limited:

Next - you probably realize that a ratcheting driver like the Megapro - offers some speed and convenience - but may not provide enough torque to break some fasteners loose

You might also note that many 1/4 inch hex-drive insert (1 inch long) bit sets come with other drive-point styles (like flat, Phillips, Robertson and Torx) in combination - more so than with hex bits.

I tool a quick look at PB Swiss - one of my favorite brands for fit and finish - and I did not see a hex-bit exclusive assortment.

An alternative might be the Wiha 79256 set:

https://www.amazon.com/Wiha-79256-Selector-Metric-Bits/dp/B002T1H69Q/

KCTool offers a discount for ToolGuyd readers - I think the code is ToolGuyd4Life

Another good brand is Wera. They offer a style called HexPlus that is said to grip socket head screws better:

https://www.amazon.com/Wera-Hex-Plus-8040-6-Bit-Check-Sheet/dp/B003KN3G1Y/

2 Likes

Thanks for the comprehensive answer. Regarding the torque, what if I also got a ratchet (eg https://www.kctoolco.com/wera-346293-30-universal-bit-ratchet-zyklop-mini-set-retail-pack/)? Or you feel that wouldn’t be enough as well? Thanks.