Graco Ultra Quickshot

Admittedly I have an “apprentice” level of experience with paint sprayers. I am not a professional painter, nor do I play one on YouTube or other platform. That said, I have painted my fair share of houses, cabinets and things in between. In completing these projects I have used a mix of brushes, rollers, “DIY” sprayers (Wagner and the like), “mid-level” Graco and Earlex (5500 spray station) airless sprayers and now the Graco Ultra Quickshot.

Over the past 3 months I have been using my newly purchased in a variety of painting/spraying applications, interiors, trim and cabinets. Note: I have not sprayed any lacquers or stains in this time. My Earlex 5500 spray station had/has served me pretty well over the years, but most of the time it’s convenience in size, portability and ease of use has been tempered, and continues to be, by the need to often back-roll due “spitting” and some runs- while the ergonomics are non existent. At times this has admittedly been user error and recalling I am not a professional painter, is to be expected for a lot of GC’s who often times have an mix of projects/builds but not enough to sub out/labor shortages making subbing impractical. So while looking for better options for myself, and having had my eye on the Graco Ultra Quickshot for about 9 months, I took chance at the end of last year and bought it. Yes the $1,400 price tag was painful. However, I knew that with holiday season, purchasing through Amazon afforded me a bit of a buffer in terms of the extended return window as opposed to a standard 30 day return period. So I took advantage and knowing I would have through the end of January if I didn’t like the unit- I splurged. Call it a Christmas present to myself.

What were my expectations for $1,400? A portable unit which is easy to fill, operate and clean are pretty obvious, as is the ability to spray different types of finishes and viscosities and attain a quality finish.