Have you been injured by a table saw?

No, I’m not a lawyer looking for a class action suit! :yum:

The Bosch Reaxx table saw post made me think maybe I’m just lucky but I’ve never gotten anything more than a splinter in 25 years of table saw use. I once (just once) dropped a piece of stock on the spinning blade and it whizzed past me. But I was wearing a heavy coat and the piece wasn’t that big so I don’t think it would have done much more than leave a bruise even if it did whack me.

For those of you who have had run-ins with a table saw, how did the accident happen? Has anyone here triggered their saw stop mechanism with a finger? Ive only seen them trigger on wet wood in a friend’s shop. I’m just curious how these accidents happen in the real world. A well tuned saw with a riving knife and approached with due respect has always seemed relatively “safe” to me.

Any stories we can learn from?

1 Like

I’m new to woodworking and using a table saw for anything more than large strait cuts/rips. I’ve had two close encounters and they were both in the past few months. First, I recently moved my grandfather’s tools into my garage and figured I would test out his old delta on some pieces of red oak. I didn’t inspect the equipment before using it and had some serious kickback due to a loose motor mount and dull blade. Second, I was building a wooden car for my son and split my jig because I was in a rush. Coincidentally, I was cutting some red oak. Moral of the story, don’t rush it… Or use red oak.

In all seriousness if I would have inspected my equipment instead of rushing it I would not have experienced these issues. I’m lucky I didn’t lose an eye or something.

1 Like