Impact driver questions

Just wondering: is there a difference in the mechanism of impact drivers vs. Impact wrenches? Also, would a company ever make a 12v hydraulic impact driver. Thinking there’s not enough perceived demand but I feel it’s the perfect form factor for a quiet impact. I have an m18 surge and love it. I mostly use m12 daily though.

1 Like

Impact wrenches and drivers have a similar anvil design and in the case of DeWalt’s DCF886 a simple(5 mins) part swap can turn it into a DCF890 3/8 impact wrench so yes they are the same in principle. Who knows if a 12v hydro driver is in the works, I’d bet Makita would be the one to do it first though. My brother-n-law has the Ridgid Stealth Force and I can say it’s defiantly a welcome addition to the job site but man is it big and heavy compaired to my DeWalt 887.

1 Like

I’m new to impacts but eventually gave way and bought the Bosch GDX-18VEC that is a combined 1/2 square drive and 1/4 inch hex. In the USA I think the model number is slightly different and you can get these at a good price if you shop around. This is a brushless model introduced a couple of years ago that I chose very deliberately for it’s handling with a compact battery, lovely slim grim and electronic 3 speed / power settings. I think it’s small for an impact wrench but a little long compared to the impact screwdrivers.
I’m very happy with it. It’s just as comfortable as I hoped but has managed to pull some big rusted expanion bolts out of masonry for me even using only a 2Ah battery pack. I like the feel of the brushless motor.

1 Like

I don’t believe you’ll see a 12v impactor - or even hydraulic impactor because of the ammount of energy lose and the reaction force though the tool.

in other words - a good bit of rotational energy is lost to the impact mechanism - they need power. Meanwhile though when impactor is swinging there’s a significant reaction in the handle.