Klein AFCI/GFCI Tester: Worth it for a new home?

Hello,

I am waiting for a new house to be finished within the month. I have a bunch of circuits in the house that have an AFCI circuit breakers. I have plenty of experience with GFCIs, but was wondering if the Klien AFCI/GFCI tester was worth the purchase for a homeowner with new wiring? If so, how often, should I test these circuits? Monthly, yearly or some other interval?

This is the least expensive device for testing AFCI that I have come across, with others that test the AFCI also test for a lot more conditions in the circuit, with a price of at least $200. I don’t think I’ll be using something like that to be worth the investment.

Don’t mind spending the $40 (or less thanks to Stuart’s secret code) on something like this. I can pass along the two GFCI outlet testers that I have to my nephews.
Thanks.

honestly I don’t even own a tester. for either. I check the push buttons onthe outlets on occasion and I flip over my circuit breaker s once a year. (odd I know)

So I don’t know I’d spring for a tester but you know it’s be nice to have one.

Now and this is odd too but I perscribe to the replaced the GFCI outlet every 4 years theory. again odd I know - but they aren’t much and I hae fewer issues

The only issues I’ve had in thepast have been cases where the GFCI trips too easily and so it works but is way to sensitive.

I see potential for similar issues for AFCI and I have AFI breakers in my house on some circuts (why not all I’m not sure).

So maybe you don’t need it but you know having the tester might help cut down on routine replacements.

OH on the GFCI outlet replacements - when my outdoor outlets act funny I replace the GFCI in the garage - all my outdoor outlets are tied to the same GFCI circult.

Eventually I plan to re-wire the garage so there are other outlets that aren’t on that circuit.