Kobalt and Lowes

Purchased Kobalts new design Table Saw with sliding extender ruler and extra support plus larger amp motor. Assembled if finally and went to operate, but, because I was a Machinist for years I thought I would check the blade to see if it runs out. IT DID ALLOT. Called Lowes they say to call the warranty number on the warranty packet. Well, after 2 hours at Lowes customer service desk they tell me Quote"we do not service Kobalt tools." Blew me away. After long hemming and hawing they wrote up a repair tag. The problem with the saw is. The flange on motor where blade rest against was pressed on not perpendicular to shaft for a total run out of .078 which makes the blade at 4.75 higher run out .138 stupid blade cut a 5\16 wide slot when it should have cut 1\8. I have an old Delta shopmaster that still runs and cuts. I got this piece of crap Kobalt for Christmas. DON’T BUY AND i MEAN DON’T BUY ANY KOBALT PRODUCTS THEY ARE ABSOLUTE CRAP.

1 Like

While I’m not a big fan of their stuff and would never buy a kobalt something that is powered (well I did get the 12v drill/impact/saw combo for $30 on clearance but my wife uses em for crafts)I have a hand full of their hand tools that work quite well. I’ve been having some hate/love issues with Lowes for awhile… What’s the point of having a pro service desk and then offer the services themselves? Someone at Lowes HQ said “hey let’s offer the same service that half our clientele that buy from us do.” So now not only do I have to buy material from them I have to compete for labor from them too???.. I’ve found myself getting materials from Menards more and more lately but I’m starting to get annoyed by them to… I have to wait in line for someone buying groceries!!! I miss the days of the lumber store!

Ouch, sounds like a lousy experience!

If in your shoes, I probably would have returned it.

1 Like