Proper wall anchor for a solid plaster wall?

(Not really about tools, unless you consider wall anchors a tool.)

My condo dates from the mid 50’s, and has interior partitions that seem to be made of solid plaster about 3 inches thick. I drilled a hole for a cable about 5 inches above the floor, and encountered no lath, no masonry, no studs, no cavity, just solid white powder all the way through. There is no paper facing. There is paint, then hard white stuff.

I want to secure some tall bookshelves to a wall so it doesn’t fall over. What kind of anchors should I use? I suppose I could put a bolt entirely through the wall, but that would be unsightly on the other side.

Thanks!

I’m not the most experienced to comment since I’ve got limited regional and condo experience. What Bit did you drill with? I Think A Standard Bit in a non-hammer Drill Would Have decent Resistance If It Was Solid Plaster. If it’s solid i would say it’s concrete. (Or previous homeowner special who knows what.) 5" From floor Could Just Be Lots Of Debris In Wall cavity, I Would Suggest Going up higher, Maybe 3’ or at your actual height, And doing s series of small,Easily Patchable , Like 1/8"-1/4" Test holes in a pattern to Try And find lathe(if it’s plaster) Probably 3 Holes At 3/4-1" Apart vertically Also Maybe 1-2’ Over another Set. Just away from potential electrical or plumbing and limit drill depth to about an inch.
If you do need to anchor through whole wall you can put a wall mounted coat rack or shelf on the other side or hang a picture or painting over bolts. Even if it is solid plaster there should still be some structural element you could fasten to. The only way there isn’t is if it’s solid concrete in which case that’s easy

You probably have plaster over what was called Rock Lath. This was used in the timeframe that your condo was built.