Question on best corded trim router

Hi all,

I’m new to woodworking and want to buy my first router. I’m thinking of using a router to create lap joints for a work table build.

I’m considering a Bosch trim router. Any of you have any experience with the Bosch or other trim routers.

Recommendations would be most appreciated

I’m a bit confused by your question.
A trim router is a tool that is perhaps best suited for light cuts - edge trimming - laminate trimming etc.
For the US market they typically come equipped with a 1/4 inch collet suitable for that work.
For use in creating a work table - they might find use in trimming a laminate top - or (with appropriate bases/jigs) be used to create scarf joints to splice sheets of laminate together.
They generally would not be the choice to hog out lots of material - as in creating half-lap joints in construction or hardwood that you might be considering for a bench or table top.
In my shop, creating lap joints and dadoes is a job I do on the table saw - but if I were grabbing one of my routers to do this job - it probably would be my 3-1/4Hp Porter Cable plunge router.
Not knowing what you are thinking about for your work table design - It is hard for me to comment further.
BTW - the Bosch trim routers is a decent tool for its intended purpose - I’ve used the old Bosch 16086 and somewhat newer Colt PR20EVS - but there is a newer GKF125 with a more powerful motor. My only complaint about the older Colt that I have is that the collet assembly is not as robust as it could be. In this Hp class - the Dewalt would be another good choice:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/DEWALT-1-25-HP-Compact-Router-with-Plunge-Base-and-Bag-DWP611PK/203054747

1 Like