ToolTalk: Talking About Tools

Given Stuart’s recent thread about shutting down the site, does anyone have ideas as to how we can create more traffic? I’m guilty as heck about not talking a whole lot about tools, especially these days. I try to stay somewhat active on the TIA forums, but I’m usually talking guns or cooking over there.

The consensus seems to be that long-time members don’t want to see the forum go, with some even coming out of the woodwork (pun intended) to comment. There’s a wealth of knowledge on these pages, and the ToolGuyd community is a virtual encyclopedia. Compared to most of you, I’m a novice when it comes to using tools and basic knowledge of them.

Anyway, regardless of whether this is the last one for this site or not, Happy Thanksgiving to everyone here! I put the turkey on the pellet grill before 0600 and am about to start with the praline honey marinade and pecans for the ham. Then it’s probably nap time for a couple of hours, because two decades in the military and my current eclectic work schedule have me off-balance.

I’m guilty of not posting but, I enjoy reading what others have to say on all subjects. I too would hate to see this forum go.

IIRC, Stuart’s issue is that he feels he can’t put the work into making the forum viable, even though some of us suggested ways to reduce the work load or even volunteered to do the work ourselves. Part of it is that Stuart feels he has to respond when people ask questions.

But I still try to come here every day, and I think I’ve asked more than my share of questions.

To generate traffic, I guess we could post links to good content in this forum on other online discussion boards like Fine Woodworking, TIA, maybe some YouTube vids, etc.