What automotive tools do I need to look at getting?

I’m going to school for carpentry, so most of my focus up to this point has been on woodworking tools, and I’ve spent a good amount on them. But now I’m looking to buy my first car, a 98 Chevy Malibu, and it’ll need some work. Brakes need redone (specifically the caliper), a/c, gas gauge, and horn are all broken. The a/c and maybe even gas gauge may not get fixed right away, but I’d like to eventually. I’m gonna have some friends who like to work on cars help me out, but I need to look at getting my own tools. What should I look for? And I’m kinda on a small budget so I may look for used tools or borrow some from friends or family. I’m also a complete rookie to all this,so any help is appreciated.

My son is halfway to his full ASE Certification and is a full time mechanic at our local Ford dealer so I make him do all my auto work :yum: He is well stocked in his tools and uses quite a bit of Harbor Freight sockets and Impact wrenched as well as many other guys in his shop(dont get me wrong he spends tooooooo much on Snapon too). I’d say get yourself a well stocked mechanic set from them for a rather low cost also look at Tekton they have some surprising good wrenches as well (thay are a US, Michigan based company and while most of their SKUs are made in China they do have some US made stuff too).