Wire strippers for foil shielded 22 AWG wire

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the forum and I would like to ask for a wire stripper recommendation. I’m still learning what to call everything, so I hope I explain this clearly.

In my work, we use Belden 8450 22AWG line level cable. The specs can be found here:
Belden 8450

I have to cut lots of short lengths, 12-36 inches and strip them. I’m not as experienced as some using hand tools. The wire has a twisted pair in a foil shield, with a ground outside the shield. Sometimes the foil comes off with the outside, sometimes not. I spend a lot of time practicing, good thing we have a lot in stock.

I’ve used Miller 101S wire strippers, but I can’t seem to get the depth set correctly so I don’t nick the conductors.The square angle of the cutting edge seems to be the issue. The Miller also gets dull over time.

I just got a pair of Irwin Vise Grip 2078300, but they don’t seem to give me a consistent result. I like the way it works, it’s easier on my hands than the Miller, but they seem a bit too brutal for such a thin wire. I can get the outside off, but it’s not getting the foil, which has to be unwrapped and cut before I can strip the twisted pair inside. There is a dial on the side to adjust, I’m still trying to figure out how it affects the wire stripping action. (Maybe you have some tips for adjusting that knob?)

I’m searching for a wire stripper that will have enough control to strip off the outer cover and the Beldfoil shield, but not nick the conductors. And if it works with a squeeze and release action, that would be a bonus.

I really appreciate your advice. Thank you.

You want one of these precision-adjustable bad boys.

If you have the cash, get two, trust me. Leave one set for your most common cable, have the other for twiddling around to whatever else comes across your bench.

1 Like